जय माता दी  (Jai MATA DI)

“ सर्वमङ्गलमाङ्गल्ये शिवे सर्वार्थसाधिके । शरण्ये त्र्यम्बके गौरि नारायणि नमोऽस्तु ते ॥

Mokshadaayi Puris

The ultimate desire of every human life is the attainment of moksh (salvation) because the basis for all theism-based religions lies in the faith and beliefs about immortality and rebirth of the soul. It is this belief that gives logic to virtues like sins-good deeds, heaven-hell, good-bad, or lust-desire. The desire for moksh also is the ultimate state of the soul’s determination. It is believed that a man’s deeds have an effect on his soul. If he engages in good deeds then he is eligible for heaven and if he has performed very good deeds, for moksh. Else the soul takes birth after birth as different life forms in a cyclical process. The desire for moksh means getting rid of this cycle, and it is in this state that the soul is in unison with the Lord.

The Puranas suggest 11 different routes to attaining moksh:

1. Gyaan (Knowledge)
2. Yog
3. Bhakti (Devotion)
4. Nishkaam Karm (Deeds without expectations)
5. Presence of certain objects (like Gangajal)
6. Name of God
7. Bhagwad Ichha (Lord’s desire)
8. Belief in one’s religion
9. Aasakti (Attachment, love)
10.Death at a particular time
11. Death at a particular place.

All these are nothing but extensions of the 3 routes Gyan (Knowledge), Karm (Deeds), and Bhakti (Devotion). They bring about a decline of Tamsik & Rajsik gunas and increase in Sattvik gunas in man. It is this Sattvik element that leads to Moksh.
There are a number of places in India where the 3 streams of Gyan, Karm and Bhakti flow. These are a permanent abode of great, learned and wise men who give sermons on the moral uplifting of man, his responsibilities and the powers and greatness of God. This is to relieve man of bad virtues like lust, anger, attachment, greed, jealousy, and pride and to encourage him to practice good virtues like truth, love, purity, kindness, forgiveness, and sacrifice. These areas are considered moksh daayi also due to the belief that they are an abode to all prominent Gods (Shaiv, Vaishnav, Shakt, Gaanpatya, Brahma etc) whose blessings can be received all at once by the pilgrims and the devotees.It is believed that this area is dear to the Gods and therefore, they appear here in different forms, from time to time.
The Aranya Parv of Mahabharat and various other Puranas have identified 7 such places, which are called as ‘Saat Moksh daayi Puries’.These places are Kashi, Ayodhya, Mathura, Dwarika, Ujjain, Haridwar and Kanchi. Kanchi is treated as 2 parts which are known as Shiv Kanchi and Vishnu Kanchi. Ayodhya, Dwarika, Mathura, and Vishnu Kanchiare considered as Vaishnav areas and Kashi, Haridwar, Ujjain and Shiv Kanchi, as Shaiv areas. But in these 7 Puries, Shiv and Vishnu are not
installed as independent of each other but as complement of each other. Therefore, after a holy dip in the waters of these pilgrimages, listening to sermons by saints, and penance and devotion, a man frees himself from the cycle of life and death and hence, attains moksh and unites with Brahm (the Lord).